In this sport, not many races are more anticipated than Anaheim 1. This year in particular held a lot of question marks. Many riders were on new bikes, and some riders who were absent last year due to injuries were back and ready to go. Ryan Villopoto’s absence and Jason Anderson’s graduation to the 450SX class cleared the way for new champions in both classes. What would the result be at Anaheim 1? For some, it may have been surprising. But for others, it was exactly what they expected.

ANAHEIM 1 2015: Supercross Begins in 2015!
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

450SX Report

Anyone who doubted Ken Roczen’s ability to dominate this year is probably reconsidering now. After taking the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross championship last year, it’s clear that Roczen is looking to do the same in Monster Energy Supercross this year. He had a great start and stayed up front for the entirety of the race. Maybe it will be the year of Roczen, and maybe it won’t. But he proved at Anaheim 1 that he’s definitely got what it takes.

ANAHEIM 1 2015: Ken Roczen at Anaheim 1
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

Perhaps the biggest surprise of Anaheim 1 was Jason Anderson taking 2nd in his first 450SX race. Yes, he’s fast – his 2014 250SX West championship demonstrated that. But it was truly impressive for him to be finishing ahead of 450SX veterans like Trey Canard (3rd) or Ryan Dungey (4th). It brings to memory Anaheim 1 last year when Roczen came out of nowhere to win the main. Only time can tell whether Anderson will stay up front, but it’s clear that he has a bright future in the class, and it probably isn’t going to take several years to get there either.

ANAHEIM 1 2015: Jason Anderson at Anaheim 1
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

450SX Results

194Ken RoczenSuzuki2525
221Jason AndersonHusqvarna2222
341Trey CanardHonda2020
45Ryan DungeyKTM1818
529Andrew ShortKTM1616
651Justin BarciaYamaha1515
723Weston PeickYamaha1414
820Broc TickleSuzuki1313
9800Mike Alessi*Suzuki1212
1022Chad ReedKawasaki1111
1112Jacob WeimerKawasaki1010
124Blake BaggettSuzuki99
1310Justin BraytonKTM88
1414Cole SeelyHonda77
1515Dean WilsonKTM66
1675Josh HillYamaha55
1724Brett MetcalfeSuzuki44
1833Josh GrantKawasaki33
1918David MillsapsKawasaki22
203Eli TomacHonda11
21199Kyle PartridgeHonda11
22211Tevin TapiaSuzuki11


ANAHEIM 1 2015: 450SX Podium at Anaheim 1
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

250SX West Report

With many of last year’s top 250SX West riders in the 450SX class now (such as Anderson, Cole Seely and Dean Wilson), there is something of a void. Jessy Nelson took the spotlight and the 1st-place position. Zach Osborne injured his thumb but still managed an impressive 2nd. Tyler Bowers took 3rd.

ANAHEIM 1 2015: Jessy Nelson Leading the Way
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

It’s always interesting to see how rookies perform. Chris Alldredge and Aaron Plessinger are both rising stars with lots of promise. Alldredge unfortunately crashed a number of times and wasn’t even in the main as a result. Plessinger, on the other hand, took 5th. Not bad for his first supercross race!

ANAHEIM 1 2015: Aaron Plessinger at A1
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

250SX West Results

128Jessy Nelson*KTM2525
216Zach OsborneHusqvarna2222
3911Tyler BowersKawasaki2020
432Justin HillKTM1818
5157Aaron PlessingerYamaha1616
640Shane McElrathKTM1515
717Cooper WebbYamaha1414
831Alex MartinYamaha1313
9100Josh HansenKawasaki1212
1061Michael LeibHonda1111
1144Zachary BellHusqvarna1010
1265Scott ChampionYamaha99
1338Matthew BiscegliaHonda88
14130Tommy HahnHonda77
15148Trevor ReisYamaha66
16341Nico IzziYamaha55
17981Austin PolitelliYamaha44
18217Ryan BreeceYamaha33
1986Zackery FreebergYamaha22
2071Cole MartinezYamaha11
2197Darryn DurhamKTM11
2234Malcolm StewartHonda11


ANAHEIM 1 2015: 250SX West A1 Podium
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

Photo Credit for All Gallery Images: Kardy Photo