The sixth round of the 2017 Monster Energy Supercross season took place in Arlington on February 11th. The night saw a number of crashes and mechanical issues that shook things up.

Eli Tomac
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

450SX Report

After a gnarly crash at the first turn with Justin Brayton, the race was restarted, and Justin Bogle took the holeshot on the restart, though Marvin Musquin was quick to get around him. Cooper Webb followed in the remaining podium spot. Meanwhile, Eli Tomac found himself in 7th after the first lap, and Ryan Dungey was all the way back in 14th.

Marvin Musquin
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

The first change within the podium spots was Webb taking over 2nd from Bogle. From there, Bogle dropped back another spot, with Seely moving into 3rd. Tomac worked his way through the ranks, and when Webb was forced behind due to a tire problem, Seely inherited 2nd while Tomac was in a position to take over 3rd. On the very next lap, however, Tomac ran into some of his own problems and dropped back. By this point, Jason Anderson had moved up several spots and was able to take over 3rd.

Cooper Webb
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

Dean Wilson was coming through the pack and having the best race of his 450SX career, breaking into the top 5 on lap 8 and then taking over 4th on the next lap. However, Dungey was also slowly working his way up, and by lap 21, he finally got past Wilson for 4th. But it was too late for Dungey to reach the podium – the first time this season he hasn’t stood on the box.

Dean Wilson
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

In the end Musquin ran away with 1st, the first 450SX win of his career. Musquin is the fourth 450SX winner in 2017 in only six rounds. Seely finished in 2nd, his best result since round 6 of last year. Anderson placed 3rd, his first podium of the year.

Cole Seely
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

Tomac had a disappointing 15th-place finish, moving him back in the overall championship points from 2nd to 4th. Dungey continues to hold a commanding lead, with 18 points over Musquin, who has moved back into 2nd. Seely has taken the 3rd spot, only an additional four points behind Musquin. Dungey’s consistency is paying off, as he remains at the top of the points week in and week out. However, he has only won a single race this season. With 11 rounds left, there is still plenty that can happen to shake things up.

450SX Results

125Marvin MusquinKTM25111
214Cole SeelyHonda22107
321Jason AndersonHusqvarna2085
41Ryan DungeyKTM18129
515Dean WilsonHusqvarna1664
620Broc TickleSuzuki1555
712Jake WeimerSuzuki1444
818Davi MillsapsKTM1383
919Justin Bogle*Suzuki1233
1047Malcolm StewartSuzuki1125
1141Trey CanardKTM1011
1261Vince FrieseHonda936
13800Mike AlessiHonda821
142Cooper WebbYamaha771
153Eli TomacKawasaki6100
1667Jimmy AlbertsonSuzuki510
174Blake BaggettKTM451
18981Austi PolitelliYamaha33
1922Chad ReedYamaha264
20314Alex RayHusqvarna15
2180Cade ClasonHonda14
2210Justin BraytonHonda143


450SX Podium
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

250SX West Report

Shane McElrath got the holeshot and took the early lead. Points leader Justin Hill followed in 2nd, with rookie Austin Forkner in 3rd. The three of them continued for three quarters of the race without any major changes. However, tragedy struck McElrath, who had to pull off the track due to a problem with his bike.

Shane McElrath
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

Aaron Plessinger began the race mid-pack, finishing lap 1 in only 12th place. However, he slowly worked his way up. By lap 13, he was finally in 4th, and when McElrath pulled off, Plessinger was able to inherit 3rd.

Aaron Plessinger
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

Hill ended up taking the win, his fourth in a row. Forkner placed 2nd, a career high. Plessinger finished in 3rd.

Justin Hill
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

Hill’s win extended his points lead. Before Arlington, only one point separated Hill and McElrath. Now 25 points separate the two. Plessinger has moved into 2nd overall, but he is still 21 points behind Hill.

250SX West Results

146Justin HillKawasaki25138
224Austin ForknerKawasaki2290
323Aaron PlessingerYamaha20117
457Jimmy DecotisHonda1891
5122Dan ReardonYamaha1672
66Jeremy MartinHonda1555
730Martin DavalosHusqvarna14106
853Cole MartinezYamaha1352
964Hayden MellrossYamaha1226
1011Kyle ChisholmHonda1160
1159Noah McConahyYamaha1038
12338Ryan SurrattKawasaki925
13244Justin HoeftYamaha812
1495AJ CatanzaroYamaha715
1571Justin StarlingHusqvarna643
16902Killian AubersonKTM530
1776Scott ChampionYamaha422
1858Chris AlldredgeYamaha33
1999Chase MarquierHonda227
20448Broc ShoemakerYamaha11
2187Chris HowellHusqvarna14
2238Shane McElrath*KTM1113


250SX West Podium
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

Photo Credit for All Gallery Images: Kardy Photo