The 10th round of the Monster Energy Supercross series took place in Daytona, Florida on Saturday, March 7. Though the series is over halfway through, it seems as though it’s just heating up. Read on to relive the action-packed night for both classes.

The Track at Daytona Supercross 2020
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

450SX Report

The 450SX race was all about Eli Tomac and Ken Roczen. Or, at the very least, all eyes were on their two red plates headed around the circle at the start. Only one person would be leaving Daytona with the red plate, and it was anyone’s guess as to who it would be. With the drop of the start gate, it was Roczen who got the better start. He and Jason Anderson were bar-to-bar around the first turn, but Roczen quickly took the lead and gapped the Husqvarna rider. Behind them, Justin Barcia and Aaron Plessinger had also gotten good starts and were duking it out for a podium position.

Eli Tomac in the Sand at Daytona 2020
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

Then, from his 6th place start, Tomac got into the fight for the podium. He made it around Barcia incident free, and then had to work his way past Cooper Webb, who had made his way into the fight, and Anderson. The three went at it for a few turns, but it didn’t last long as Tomac made it around both riders fairly quickly.

The 2020 450SX Podium at Daytona
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

Roczen was next in Tomac’s sights, though there was a 7-second gap between the top-2 positions. Their laps times were close, too, with Tomac riding just one second faster than Roczen. It seemed as though Tomac was never going to catch Roczen, but then Roczen gifted him a mistake – a quick tip-over in a turn let Tomac right by, and Tomac took full advantage and stole the lead. There were just three laps to go and Tomac led the rest of them. Roczen finished in 2nd place with Webb finishing in 3rd.

450SX Results

13Eli TomacKawasaki26226
294Ken RoczenHonda23223
31Cooper Webb KTM21197
421Jason Anderson*Husqvarna19170
551Justin BarciaYamaha18195
67Aaron PlessingerYamaha17125
715Dean WilsonHusqvarna16129
827Malcolm StewartHonda15152
946Justin HillHonda14141
1010Justin BraytonHonda13129
1164Vince FrieseHonda12108
1250Benny BlossKTM1134
1322Chad ReedHonda1049
1437Martin DavalosKTM992
1511Kyle ChisholmYamaha844
1691Ryan SipesKTM77
1748Henry MillerKTM66
1871Ryan BreeceSuzuki531
19722Adam EnticknapSuzuki412
20393Daniel HerrleinKTM38
2134Tyler BowersKawasaki260
224Blake BaggettKTM1109


250SX Report

As it has in years past, Daytona’s unique track design brought some unexpected riders to the front of the race. For the 250s, it was Garrett Marchbanks. After his first ever 250SX heat race win, the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki rider took the holeshot and the lead of the race. Behind him, the other riders were struggling around the circle after the start. Jordon Smith, Shane Mcelrath, Chase Sexton, and RJ Hampshire were all tailing Marchbanks, and the drama started with Smith. After getting bumped in the sand by Mcelrath, Smith went down and had to be taken off the track by the Alpinestars Medical Crew. His untimely exit from the race shuffled the top positions, making the running order Marchbanks, Sexton, Hampshire, Enzo Lopes, Jeremy Martin, and Mcelrath.

Garret Marchbanks Wins for the 250s at Daytona 2020
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

Then in second, Sexton started to make his charge for the lead. He was already ahead of the major title competition, Mcelrath, who was riding in 5th place, but the extra points would help him keep the red plate and widen the points gap. So, Sexton got on the throttle and started to reel Marchbanks in. It didn’t work, though – Marchbanks pushed hard, laid down fast lap times, and held onto first until the checkered flag. Sexton and Martin joined him on the podium with Hampshire and Mcelrath rounding out the top 5.

250SX East Results

136Garrett Marchbanks*Kawasaki2679
21EChase SextonHonda2398
36Jeremy MartinHonda2165
424RJ HampshireHonda1980
512Shane McElrathKTM1888
6163Pierce Brown KTM1723
784Jo ShimodaHonda1660
866Enzo LopesYamaha1551
9352Jalek SwollHusqvarna1442
10201Cedric SoubeyrasHusqvarna1335
1139Jordan BaileyHonda1241
1247Lorenzo LocurcioKawasaki1120
13349Grant HarlanHonda1015
14159Jace OwenHonda926
1556Justin StarlingHonda818
16981Curren ThurmanKTM718
1773Chase MarquierHonda66
18128Carter HalpainYamaha55
19332Dustin WinterKTM411
20258Justin RodbellYamaha33
21175Joshua HillYamaha243
2254Jordon SmithKawasaki148


Team Green Wins Big at Daytona 2020
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

If Daytona taught us anything, it’s that the 450SX title chase is going to last all the way to Salt Lake City. It’s shaping up to be a hard-fought battle to the end with Eli Tomac leaving Daytona with the 450SX red plate. For the 250s, Chase Sexton will be leading the class into Indianapolis.

Photo Credit for All Gallery Images: Kardy Photo