The 6th round of the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross series took place in San Diego, California on February 8, 2020. The bikes and riders in both classes were decked out for military appreciation week as they put on an exciting and unforgettable night of racing.

2020 San Diego SX Track Map
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

450SX Report

Adam Cianciarulo kicked off the 450SX main event with an impressive holeshot, but he wasn’t able to keep the lead for long. Cooper Webb came blazing around the second corner, stealing 1st place from the inside. Cianciarulo fought back, though, and quickly stole the lead back, igniting a fiery battle for 1st that would continue for the rest of the race. Meanwhile, Eli Tomac, who had gotten a poor start, was just trying to get in the mix while battling with Aaron Plessinger, Blake Baggett, Malcolm Stewart, and Ken Roczen for a podium position.

Adam Cianciarulo at 2020 San Diego SX
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

Seven minutes in and it was a similar scene: shuffling positions and fast passes. Justin Barcia had made his way up to the top 5, contesting with Tomac and Roczen for 4th place. Barcia was then holding down the position and, after a few failed attempts to pass him, Roczen relinquished his 5th place to Tomac. The Kawasaki rider then made a move of his own on Barcia, and he actually got his pass to stick. After Tomac had made his way around Barcia, the door was open for Roczen who made a pass as well.

Cooper Webb at 2020 San Diego SX
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

Back up front, the battle between Cianciarulo and Webb was more intense than ever. Webb had closed the gap between him and Cianciarulo, and was starting to put the pressure on the 450SX rookie for the lead. Cianciarulo was riding defensively and blocked a few passes, and it became clear that Webb wasn’t getting around him forcibly. He was ready to capitalize on any of Cianciarulo’s mistakes, though, and his opportunity came when Cianciarulo lost his rhythm in the whoops section. Coming into the sand section slower than usual, Cianciarulo lost the lead to Webb, and the defending champ went onto take the win at the checkered flag.

450SX Podium at 2020 San Diego SX
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

Perhaps just as exciting as the battle for 1st place was the battle for 3rd. In true El Chupacabra fashion, Baggett had snuck his way into the battle for the podium and actually locked up the position by the flag. He joined Webb and Cianciarulo, who finished in 2nd place, on the final podium.

450SX Results

Pos.No. RiderBikeFinishPoints
11Cooper WebbKTM26121
29Adam Cianciarulo*Kawasaki23113
34Blake BaggettKTM2190
43Eli TomacKawasaki19129
551Justin BarciaYamaha18116
694Ken RoczenHonda17130
710Justin BraytonHonda1689
827Malcolm StewartHonda1590
946Justin HillHonda1475
107Aaron PlessingerYamaha1370
1116Zach OsborneHusqvarna1275
1237Martin DavalosKawasaki1150
1315Dean WilsonHusqvarna1069
1421Jason AndersonHusqvarna9105
1564Vince FrieseHonda860
1634Tyler BowersKawasaki734
1750Benny BlossKTM613
1811Kyle ChisholmYamaha515
1961Alex RayKawasaki419
20817Jason ClemontKawasaki33
2122Chad ReedHonda217
2271Ryan BreeceSuzuki113


250SX Results

Much like the 450SX main event, the 250SX event started with immediate action. Austin Forkner took the holeshot, but Michael Mosiman ended up with the lead after the first lap. Mosiman had quite the lineup behind him, though – Forkner, Dylan Ferrandis, and Justin Cooper were all vying for a podium position by the checkered flag.

Austin Forkner at 2020 San Diego SX
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

Forkner was the first of the four to make a pass. After Ferrandis made a mistake and lost some time on Forkner, the Kawasaki rider was able to make a move of his own for the lead. He made quick work of Mosiman, leaving him to deal with a charging Ferrandis. It took Ferrandis even less time to make a move on Mosiman, leaving Mosiman in 3rd place after just a few short minutes.

Michael Mosiman at 2020 San Diego SX
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

Further back, Cameron McAdoo, Luke Clout, and Alex Martin were looking for a way to break into the top 5. McAdoo was holding down 5th, but a bike issue sidelined him and gave him a DNF for the race. That moved Clout up to 5th and into a battle with Martin and the approaching Brandon Hartranft. Meanwhile, Cooper had made his way around Mosiman as well, setting himself up nicely for a final podium.

450SX Podium at San Diego
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

As the time ticked down, Ferrandis was trying to make a move on Forkner. In another aggressive pass we’ve gotten used to seeing from Ferrandis, the defending champ made a move that sent Forkner off track. It wasn’t enough to knock Forkner off his bike, but it was enough to allow Ferrandis to steal the win that Forkner had all but secured. The final podium saw Ferrandis, Forkner, and Cooper with Mosiman and Hartranft rounding out the top 5.

250SX West Results

11WDylan FerrandisYamaha26135
252Austin Forkner*Kawasaki23122
332Justin CooperYamaha21128
428Michael MosimanHusqvarna1982
530Brandon HartranftKTM18110
6101Luke CloutHonda1783
745Jacob HayesHusqvarna1689
895Carson BrownHusqvarna1572
957Derek DrakeKTM1472
1026Alex MartinSuzuki1398
11106Jay WilsonYamaha1245
1255Martin CasteloHusqvarna1153
1390Killian AubersonHusqvarna1051
14108Aaron TantiYamaha946
1588Logan KarnowKawasaki827
16118Cheyenne HarmonHonda717
1760Mitchell FalkHonda624
18952Ludovic MaclerKawasaki512
19837Bryson GardnerHonda44
2097Chris HowellHusqvarna36
21284Lorenzo CamporeseKawasaki27
2229Cameron McadooKawasaki127


Cooper Webb at San Diego SX
Photo Credit: Kardy Photo

Ken Roczen is keeping his lead for the 450s, and Dylan Ferrandis is keeping his for the 250s. We’ll see what happens at the first East Coast round next week!

Photo Credit for All Gallery Images: Kardy Photo