The seventh round of the AMA Kenda/SRT West Hare Scramble Championship took place on October 1-2 in Imperial, CA, at the Superstition Mountain OHV for the Rattlesnake Chase, sponsored by the Roadrunner Offroad Club.

Pro/AA Report

The race began with Rocky Mountain ATV/MC Precision Concepts Race Team’s Justin Morgan taking off with the early lead. He was followed by Jacob Argubright in 2nd and Grant Statley in 3rd. Argubright put pressure on Morgan, eventually taking over the lead on lap 2. From there, he starting to extend his gap over Morgan – until misfortune struck on lap 4, knocking him out of the race. Morgan took over the lead once more, with Statley inheriting 2nd. Nick Burson, who had been running in 4th, moved into 3rd. There was no movement among racing positions in the latter half of the race. Morgan took the win. Statley placed 2nd; Burson placed 3rd.

Nick Burson’s 3rd was enough for him to clinch the championship one round early. Justin Bonita is solidly in 2nd, with Cory Graffunder in 3rd. However, as Graffunder hasn’t raced in WHS since the series resumed after the summer break, it looks like there is an opportunity for Ryan Smith (4th), Dante Oliveira (5th) or possibly even another rider to take over the position at the final round.

Top 20 Overall Motorcycle Results

Ovl. Pos.Cls. Pos.No.NameBikeClassPointsSeries Points
11403Justin MorganYamahaPro/AA3065
22347Grant StatleyYamahaPro/AA2551
33657Nick BursonBetaPro/AA21157
4462Ryan SmithYamahaPro/AA1874
55451Justin BonitaYamahaPro/AA16116
61N430Austin SerpaKTMA 2501532
71356Dante OliveiraKTMPro 2501473
86117Damon BushBetaPro/AA1320
91155James ShaferYamahaA Open1212
10267Brad MillikanBetaA Open1111
1112VEric BiddlecomeKTMA Vet1010
123N514Gavin McCarthyA Open99
1321XThomas HebertHondaA 25088
143111XDaniel FentonKTMA 25077
151P17Ryan KarellKTMA 20067
1643Matthew MartinKTMA Open55
174N502XZachary CramerHusqvarnaA 25044
181N431Dallas SerpaKTMB 20033
191N320Steve GriebBetaA Sen22
20245Nate GrahamHusqvarnaA Sen11